Steve Martin on “Being Funny”

I cut my hair, shaved my beard and put on a suit. I stripped my act of all political references. … Overnight, I was no longer at the tail end of an old movement but at the front end of a new one. Instead of looking like another freak with a crazy act, I now looked like a visitor from the straight world who had gone seriously awry.

Source: Smithsonian Magazine | Arts & Culture | Being Funny. Via: 43F.

Explore posts in the same categories: Web stuff

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 828 other followers

