Google Maps Street View: Getting Closer

Yesterday, the kind souls at Google announced that there Street View feature included six more cities. I looked at the list – “Chicago, Portland, Pittsburgh, Phoenix, Tucson [sic] and Philadelphia” – and promptly ignored the update, since I don’t live in any of those places. Imagine my surprise when earlier today I was using Google Maps and I saw how closely Google’s definition of Philadelphia crept to my own house.

streetview

I think this may safely be the closest any cool web technology has come to little old Wilmington. I look forward to when the Google has close up pictures of the earth’s whole surface, but until then, we’ll make do with what we have.

UPDATE: Another person’s impression of the same phenomenon.

Leave a Reply

