2001: A Space Odyssey comes to HD

A Space Odyssey movie posterFrom High-Def Digest’s HD DVD Review: 2001: A Space Odyssey, by Kenneth Brown:

Years ago, I gave up trying to argue the merits of the film with those who find it tedious or plodding. I’ve come to accept the fact that ‘2001’ is a definitive love-it-or-hate-it flick that will forever split audiences. Still, whatever you may ultimately think of the film itself, ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ will literally haunt your brain after you watch it. In my opinion, every film fan owes it to themselves to experience ‘2001’ at least once in their lives.

As a person who watches lo-def TV on a 14″ screen, I do not follow anything about the world of HD video very closely. Still, when I see a review of one of my top-five movies following its initial HD release, I cannot help but take a gander to see what they have to say. When I read the paragraph above, I knew that Mr. Brown had come to the same realization I have about this film – one cannot explain it to others in a way that will help them (or make them) like it. People either do or they do not, and you have to let that be.

His subsequent description of the film is the first time I have felt any tug towards the HD video experience. One day, after all three kids are done with college, I’ll get there.

The print is in excellent condition and isn’t marred by softness, edge enhancement, scratches, or any distracting instances of source noise. There isn’t a hint of the blockiness that haunts ‘A Clockwork Orange’ and the transfer easily surpasses the new 2-disc Special Edition DVD (as well as every other previous home video release of the film). As I watched this HD DVD, I searched for something to complain about, but I’m happy to report that I failed to find a single thing. ‘2001: A Space Odyssey’ has set a new bar for catalog transfers in high definition. For a film that’s nearly forty years old, this high-def release is nothing short of a godsend.

[Via DF]

Leave a Reply

