More ultra-slim Apple laptop rumblings

As my legions of faithful readers well know, I am fairly obsessed (1 and 2) with the reports of a new, small Apple laptop that have been showing up for some time. I sort of have in mind the notion that 2008 may be the year of the laptop for me, but I have yet to decide how to set up the machines, network, and server issues in the house in that scenario, so it’s all a little murky. Fortunately, gadget lust and practicality do not need to be in sync, so on to the rumors…

Today’s update comes courtesy of AppleInsider, so take this with a grain of salt, but they have a friend whose tailor’s brother-in-law’s girlfriend’s doorman’s roommate’s half-step-godfather works in Taiwan, and he says that “Ultra-portable Apple notebook to splash down at Macworld Expo.” Furthermore:

  • 13″ portable approximately 50% lighter and strikingly slimmer than 15″ MacBook Pro
  • Omits optical disc drive
  • Aluminum-clad
  • First Mac with solid-state memory to improve power efficiency and facilitate near-instantaneous boot times
  • New 13″ display featuring LED backlights
  • Memory and screen expected to translate into significant battery performance improvements

Obviously, I hope that this is all true and that we will see it emerge in January. I do reassure myself that my wife’s MacBook is a terrific machine, so if this never materializes, I know I’d be happy with one of those machines.

One thought on “More ultra-slim Apple laptop rumblings

Leave a Reply

