LOTD: Hearts and Bones

An update to this so-not-daily series…

This morning’s playlist included Paul Simon’s Hearts and Bones, the title track from his fifth solo-album released in 1983. I love Paul Simon, but still his writing sneaks up on me in ways that can be surprising and poignant after listening to the same track a hundred times. A case in point:

And tell me why,
Why won’t you love me
For who I am, where I am?
He said: ’cause that’s not the way the world is baby.
This is how I love you, baby.
This is how I love you, baby.

Here he is performing this song in Central Park, in 1991.

You can buy the song, or album, on iTunes.

One thought on “LOTD: Hearts and Bones

Leave a Reply

