Friday pictures: Vought Corsairs

Recently, the Friday pictures have been low-level shots of Starfighters, North American beauties, and even a few Jaguars. Today, I returned to the land of airplane soulfood and chose two shots of the first airplane I adored – the Vought F4U Corsair. Yes, I watched a lot of Baa Baa Black Sheep.

Fitted with a Pratt & Whitney R-2800 Double Wasp radial engine, the plane used a large 13’ 4” propeller to handle all of the horsepower and a gull wing was added to help it stand higher and keep the prop clear of the ground. As a kid, I did not know that – all I knew is that it looked great. Here it is in all its glory.

By White Shadow Photog.

By Mitchel25J

If you like this, I encourage you to check out this summary of all of the aviation photography I have featured here.

4 thoughts on “Friday pictures: Vought Corsairs

  1. They are awesome, but alas they are not mine. Each one links to a page on Flickr where you can learn more about them. The top one was taken with a Nikon D70s and the photographer does not indicate what was used for the bottom one.

  2. Nice nice your fotos. Think if I had the chance to make such great fotos I would only get the front or the end of these planes. Greetings, Niki

Leave a Reply

