Friday pictures: Hawker Hunter

I’m not sure why I gravitate to so many British planes for this series – Jaguars, Tornados, and now a Hunter. The US has so many beauties, but Flickr seems to have some truly gifted English photographers, I guess. Next week, I’ll look for something non-British and see what I come up with. In the meantime, take a moment to revel in this gorgeous Hawker Hunter trainer, taken by timuss. Perfection. There are a few planes that look to me like the simple forms that kids draw in Middle School study hall. The Mirage F1 and the Lockheed F-90 are both examples of this. The YF-16 almost was, although few kids would have dreamed up the ventral inlet. The F-104 has a bit of it, too. Quintessential, timeless shapes.

Hawker Hunter

If you like this, I encourage you to check out this summary of all of the aviation photography I have featured here.

Leave a Reply

