A heartbreaking work of staggering genius

I have added RSS feeds for a few Lego builders on Flickr, and keep up with their building with a mixture of interest and jealousy. Interest because the range of specialized parts available today enable building styles I never dreamed of as a kid, and jealousy because I would love to have the chance to sit down with a bin of modern parts and try my hand at it, but who has the time for that? So I watch these builders from afar and live vicariously through them, because that’s what the internet is for, right?

Among the Flickr builders, the one whose body of work is most consistently impressive (to me, of course) is the Mad physicist with his scale aircraft. I have passed along many of those models here previously. Yet I have neglected to post any of the models by my other favorite – a builder who goes by the screen name nnenn. He came to my attention last September, and his name is in my Google Reader 433 times – even at three pictures per creation, this builder builds! I don’t know anything about him, but I do see that he participated in a LAML podcast interview a month ago – I will load that on my iPod tonight.

One reason I have never shown any of his creations here is that it is essentially impossible to do justice to his works. He changes styles, methods, and techniques with nearly every creation. However, today nnenn posted a composite image of dozens upon dozens of his creations. The skill with which he documents his models is very impressive, and he has clearly been building to this for some time. Tomorrow, it will be the desktop background on my kids’ Mac – what great inspiration for their future creations.

Please click to see the full-sized image.
Please click to see the full-sized image.

See more of his creations here and here.

Leave a Reply

