We are quiet car people!

In a previous post, I have touched on the phenomenon of the Amtrak Quiet Car, and I guess at some point I should flesh that out further. Today is not the day to do so.

tal

For the moment, I am going to encourage you to take less than ten minutes and listen to a portion of a This American Life show, from December 19. In this episode, #370: Runing It for the Rest of Us, producer Nancy Updike discusses some thoughts of hers after commuting aboard the Quiet Car. I think the following link will bring up the player for you. If not, then click on the epsiode title above and look for the “full episode” link. Either way, the quiet car segment begins 47″ into the piece.

Favorite line: Everything I need to know about the appeal of fascism I am learning from the quiet car.

Leave a Reply

