Friday pictures: RAAF F-111 Aardvark

Four months ago, I wrote about the Australian F-111 fleet in a Friday pictures post here. While I do seek to feature a range of aircraft here, I nonetheless am drawn to the RAAF Aardvarks as they are both visually arresting and retired from the USAF, so moderately rare sightings.

For background on the plane and its service in Australia, see the above link. For now, my thanks to hanging pixels for this handsome shot.

As a bonus, I will include a brand new shot from Joe Stremph, whose work simply gets better and better. I think the red revealed under the extended slats is very sharp in this shot taken during the current Red Flag exercises. Click on the picture to see it much larger.

If you like this, I encourage you to check out this summary of all of the aviation photography I have featured here.

Leave a Reply

